By: Sr. Patty Johnson

Sisters Ann Letourneau (left) and Charlene Diroka (right) assume their new positions on the Leadership Council. The Leadership Council, which serves as the "board of directors" for the U.S. Federation, marked the beginning of a historic transition as its’ membership was expanded to include two sisters from the youngest seven percent of vowed sisters. Sisters Charlene Diorka and Anne Letourneau joined what has, until now, been a Leadership Council composed solely of elected leaders.

The Leadership Council approved a process, which will begin in January, to appoint three new members of the Leadership Council. They will begin their work in November 2019, representing interest groups and standing committees of the Federation. They also began the discussion for how to consider the appointments of those who will represent Associates, Agrégées, Partners in Mission, St. Joseph Worker Communities, and others who share the charism. With membership to the Federation opening to these groups on January 2, 2019, enrollment will be something the Leadership Council will watch closely.

The Leadership Council at a meeting in June 2018.Another exciting move for the Leadership Council was its’ decision to assist in raising funds for Venezuelan refugees being served by Sisters of St. Joseph of Chambery in Brazil. This important need was addressed through our website and social media with a special emphasis on #GivingTuesday — a global movement to kick-off the season of giving on the Tuesday following Thanksgiving. This was the first effort of the U.S. Federation to participate in #GivingTuesday. The Leadership Council noted the generosity of those who have gone to assist at the border of the U.S. and Mexico, those serving the undocumented in their communities, and the work that our Sisters of St. Joseph in Lyon have been doing in Mexico. The U.S. Federation wants to continue to support our sisters and their lay partners in their work on this important issue of our time.

[Sr. Patty Johnson is the executive director of the U.S. Federation of the Sisters of St. Joseph]